Have you ever tried looking for someone on Instagram but the Instagram app says something like “No Posts Yet” and it doesn’t show the profile’s bio or the follower information? Well, it means you are blocked by that someone.
Instagram doesn’t notify you when someone blocks you. If you have a nagging suspicion about someone who you haven’t heard from in a while, here’s how you can check if they have blocked you on Instagram.
- Open your Instagram app.
- Go to the search bar.
- Type in the person’s username who you think has blocked you into the search bar
Once you find the person you’re looking for, click on their picture and name to enter his/her Instagram profile. You should be able to see his/her pictures. If you cannot see their pictures or any information, or if they don’t appear in the search bar there could be two reasons. Either, this person has blocked you from their Instagram or they have deleted their Instagram account entirely.
You can also confirm this by visiting the person’s Instagram profile on the web. If you remember their Instagram ID, add it to the end of the “www.instagram.com/(username)” link.
Again, if Instagram tells you that the page doesn’t exist, they might have blocked you or they might have deleted their profile.
To confirm whether their account has been deleted, you need to do some detective work. Head to an Instagram account you know the person follows and look for comments or likes they’ve left; if you find any, it confirms that they haven’t closed their account, and have indeed blocked you.
You could also always use a friend’s account, or even create a new Instagram account, and look for the person you suspect blocked you. If this other account can find their profile, see their photos, and the like, you’ve been blocked.
What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram?
Blocking someone on Instagram is actually fairly easy. If this person wants to block you for whatever reason, they can do so easily. You can block someone on Instagram or be blocked on Instagram by the click of a button. Once you block someone on Instagram they won’t be able to see your profile or pictures anymore. Although, you will still be able to see this person’s profile if you search for it. If you want more information about how to do this,
So these are some of the changes that happen when someone blocked you on Instagram.
- You cannot see their profile, photos, or stories
- You cannot contact them through messages
But what if Instagram itself blocked you? Can Instagram block you? What are the reasons behind this blocking?
Can Instagram Block you?
Reasons why you can be blocked from Instagram
1. Mass following and Mass liking:
Instagram doesn’t want any spambots mass following and unfollowing, so it’s imposed follow limits. You can only follow 7500 accounts, and per hour you can only perform 60 actions (follow and unfollow).
The most apparent sign of receiving a temporary block from Instagram is through trying to grow a significant number of likes and followers at one time. It’s good that you’ll know Limits and restrictions according to official Instagram reference avoid these things to happen.
- a maximum number of likes per hour: 60;
- a maximum number of comments per hour: 60;
- a maximum number of follows per hour: 60;
- a maximum number of messages per hour: 60.
But if your account is fairly new, the limits are different:
- a maximum number of likes per hour: 30;
- a maximum number of comments per hour: 30;
- a maximum number of follows/unfollows per hour: 30.
2. Excessively Frequent Posting:
Not only is this kind of behavior considered spammy but posting multiple times in a row can cause you to get penalized by the Instagram algorithm, meaning your posts will be shown to fewer people!
Aside from being blocked from Instagram, it’s the best thing to know that If you want to generate a lot of engagement (and sales) on your Instagram posts, you need to post when your audience is most active! So there’s no need to post-flooding because it will become useless when no engagement.
3. Copyright Infringement:
Copyright infringement (colloquially referred to as piracy) is the use of works protected by copyright law without permission for a usage where such permission is required, thereby infringing certain exclusive rights granted to the copyright holder, such as the right to reproduce, distribute, display or perform the protected work, or to make derivative works.
As a general matter, copyright infringement occurs when a copyrighted work is reproduced, distributed, performed, publicly displayed, or made into a derivative work without the permission of the copyright owner.
The copyright issue is a big deal on Instagram. All images in your account have to be either yours or permitted by the author. If you want to share somebody else’s image, tag the author in the photo (provided he has an Instagram account) and give credit to the author in the description. Moreover, if you post a video with music to which you don’t have the rights, Instagram will remove such a post for sure. The worst thing is the author can report you to Instagram for using the photo without their agreement or specifying the authorship and you can be blocked for copyright infringement.
4. Images/Videos Violating Social Network Rules :
Whatever your goals are, posting Photos and videos with naked bodies, sexual content, and violence are considered unsuitable. posting such inappropriate content can get you banned, so you must be very vigilant.
5. User Complaints:
Can anyone report you on Instagram? Yes, People can complain especially if you don’t follow the restrictions like mass liking, mass following, insults, inappropriate content, spam, etc.
6.Different IP addresses and Devices:
An Instagram IP ban is a ban placed on a particular device so that it is restricted from accessing the services of Instagram.
If you log into your account from various devices and approve it via SMS, Instagram is less likely to ban you. Though, if you log in with different devices and IP-addresses, Instagram may think scammers hacked your account. The social network responds to it instantly and blocks the profile for your own safety.
After getting banned/ blocked from Instagram is there a chance to recover your account?
If you have been blocked temporarily, do NOTHING about it. It just makes no sense. Wait until Instagram finally hands back your privileges and you are good to go. Just make sure you do not repeat the actions that got you a temporary block ever again, or you may try the following steps.
How to recover Instagram’s temporary ban?
1. Report to Instagram:
You can report your problem to the administration by clicking the “Tell Us” or “Report” option.
2. Stop for two days and then try on the third day:
You should stop using your account for at least 2 days. It means no liking, commenting, following, or unfollowing. But of course, you can continue browsing on Instagram.
On the 3rd day, you can continue your normal activities and remember to avoid anything that would make you look like a bot. You should like and comment only a couple of photos every day.
3. Link Instagram with other social networks:
It would help you to link your Instagram account with your other social media account. You would seem more legit if you link your Instagram to other social media.
4. Edit your Bio:
Edit and make changes to your bio. This might help your account and saves you from any further troubles.
5. Clean and Reinstall:
Use the platform like a regular user, which means avoiding spammy actions, and you’ll be fine. Instagram’s goal is to make the platform more enjoyable.
Ready to take your Instagram account to the next level? Work with the experts at Social Sensei to help pair your business with the right growth plan to help you gain real Instagram followers, increase brand exposure, and boost your credibility. Dial 888-444-9144 to talk to one of our experts today or click here to schedule a FREE 15-minute consultation with us.